News Detail - Main Events

« Back

The 36th HKIFF Announces Nine Winners in Five Competitions

The 36th Hong Kong International Film Festival (HKIFF) announced this year’s winning films for the SIGNIS Awards, FIPRESCI Prize, and the Firebird Awards for Short Film Competition, Documentary Competition and Young Cinema Competition. The announcement took place at the Hong Kong Cultural Centre. The winners of Documentary Competition Award and Young Cinema Competition will receive a camera kit sponsored by Nikon.

Co-organised with SIGNIS Hong Kong since 2004, the SIGNIS Awards recognise quality films that express social and humanitarian concerns as well as spiritual values. The SIGNIS Award this year went to Monsieur Lazhar by Philippe Falardeau. The jury’s commented that “Avoiding sentimentality and using subtle humour this sensitive gem speaks to the heart” The film shows how cinema can be a powerful tool to enhance sensational experience. Both I Wish and Declaration of War received Special Mention of this Award.

The FIPRESCI Prize has been presented since the 23rd HKIFF with the aim to promote young talent and artistic excellence in Asian filmmaking. The FIPRESCI prize was presented to The Mirror Never Lies by Kamila Andini. The Jury noted that s beemovie shows us a community's relationship with nature and the personal story of the search of a father that has disappeared. The impressive visual style combines the power of the ocean and the rites of the human beings, the every-day struggle of life and the coming-of-age-story of a young girl.”

Supported by the Jockey Club Cine Academy (JCCA), the Short Film Competition this year received 500 entries from Asia, Europe and the Americas. Twenty finalists were selected and shown during the festival. this year the Film Festival has added The Special Prize (Hong Kong) for the local film. The Jury Prize was presented to Everyone Says I Love You by Cecile Ducrocq. The new Special Prize (Hong Kong) was conferred to Acid by Lam Suk-ching. Lam’s work has been greatly recognized laying a foundation to local filmmakers and serving as a huge encouragement for them. The top award of Firebird Prize was made to Muybridge’s Strings by Yamamura Koji. Jury members were very moved by its poetic style and its original structure.

The Documentary Competition Award is made to documentary filmmakers who address social issues.The Firebird Award was made to Jai Bhim Comrade by Anand Patwardhan. The Jury recognized that "Its subject is compelling but easy to ignore. The film is morally powerful and dignifies the people whose world it reveals. It is lyrical, a musical, a compilation film and a wonderful piece of journalism." The Jury Prize went to Back to the Square by Petr Lom. The Jury commented that this was "A moving and brave film about a truly relevant topic. The film was made in unstable circumstances yet has a smooth rhythm and is clear-sighted in showing us that the revolution in Egypt is far from over."

The Young Cinema Competition aims to encourage young Asian filmmakers and to recognize their efforts. The Firebird Award for Young Cinema went to Song of Silence by Chen Zhuo. The jury commented that this was "A beautiful film with naturalistic acting and great cinematography. The jury looks forward to the director's future works as a dynamic new voice of Chinese cinema." The Jury Prize went to The End of Puberty by Kimura Shoko, which was highly praised for the director’s "creativity with a dynamic point-of-view and unique and effective way of expression, and the film is is a clever and original depiction of sex and sexual relationship."

List of Awards

Young Cinema Competition
Firebird Award Song of Silence
Jury Prize The End of Puberty
Documentary Competition
Firebird Award Jai Bhim Comrade
Jury Prize Back to the Square
Short Film Competition
Firebird Award Muybridge’s Strings
Jury Prize Everyone Says I Love You
Special Prize (Hong Kong) Acid
FIPRESCI Prize The Mirror Never Lies
SIGNIS Award Monsieur Lazhar
Special Mention I Wish, Declaration of War

List of Jurors

Young Cinema Competition
Anderson Le, USA
LEE Yoon-ki, South Korea
LAW Kar, Hong Kong

Mark Cousins, United Kingdom
Zhu Rikun, China

CHAN Ning, Hong Kong


Short Film Competition
Michelle Carey, Australia
Yamashita Koyo, Japan
O Sing-pui, Hong Kong

Helmut Merker, Germany
Philip Cheah, Singapore
Lau Yam, Hong Kong

Karel Deburchgrave, Belgium
Sikares Sirakan, Thailand
Catherine Wong, Hong Kong