The Hong Kong International Film Festival presents five competition sections with the award winners decided by distinguished jury members consisting of renowned film industry professionals, film critics, directors and talent. The winners of the awards will be announced at the 36th HKIFF Awards Gala Ceremony

1. Young Cinema Competition
2. Documentary Competition
4. SIGNIS Award
5. Short Film Competition

Young Cinema Competition

The Young Cinema Competition is set up to encourage young filmmakers to explore the potentials of the cinema of our times. 

Young Cinema Competition Jury

Anderson LE studied Asian Studies and American History at Arizona State University and received his Bachelor in Communications at the University of Hawaii at Mānoa. He is currently the program director for the Hawaii International Film Festival and the Artistic Director for the Los Angeles Asian Pacific Film Festival. He has served on juries at Rotterdam, Singapore and Los Angeles Film Festivals, among others. Le was a panelist for the Los Angeles County Arts Commission and is on the board of directors of Chang Phuong Films, a Saigon-based production company.

LEE Yoon-ki was born in 1965 in Korea and graduated from the University of Southern California. He started his film career by producing and directing award-winning short films. This Charming Girl (04), his directorial debut, was awarded the NETPAC Award at Berlin Film Festival and the New Currents Award in Pusan Film Festival. His latest film Come Rain, Come Shine (11) was selected for official competition at Berlin Film Festival. Selected Filmography: Love Talk (05), Ad Lib Night (06), My Dear Enemy (08).

LAW Kar was a writer/director for stage and TV in the 1980s and was programmer for the Hong Kong International Film Festival and the Hong Kong Film Archive from 1990-2005. He is now a researcher in Chinese/ Hong Kong cinema. His English publications include Hong Kong Cinema – A Cross Cultural View (2004, co-author) and From Art Form to Platform,
Hong Kong Plays and Performances 1900-1941
(1999, co-author). In recent years he has also worked on documentaries.

Nominees: About the Pink Sky, Choked, The End of Puberty, Postcards from the Zoo, Song of Silence, Stateless Things, The Woman in the Septic Tank, Young Dudes

Firebird Award: Song of Silence Directed by Chen Zhuo
Jury Prize: The End of Puberty Directed by Kimura Shoko